top of page

News from UU Association


General Assembly 2022 is going to be bigger than ever. We invite everyone to join in via a multiplatform event. Not only will some delegates gather in Portland, Oregon, but many delegates will be participating from everywhere else, wherever they decide to connect virtually. Building on the infrastructure and experience from 2020 and 2021, GA 2022 will be a truly multiplatform Assembly, offering greater participation and accessiblity by congregations than we have experienced before. Not only will GA 2022 transcend the space and the limits of being in one city, it will also reflect how we have reimagined our time together. The discussions of the important business of the Association will not be limited to a few hours but will unfold in a more deliberate and thoughtful manner over a period stretching from April to June.


The important business of the Association will unfold in a more deliberate and thoughtful manner over a period stretching from April to June.


Here’s a schedule of those discussions: WEBINAR: Discussion of Proposed Business Resolutions

  • Saturday: April 9th at 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT

  • Wednesday April 13th at 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT

The Board is proposing two business resolutions this year. One calls for a multi-year process of writing new bylaws for the Association. The other suspends the General Assembly Planning Committee, pending the new bylaws. The Board will share the draft language of these resolutions, so it can receive congregational feedback. WEBINAR: In-Depth Look at the GA 2022 Rules of Procedure

  • Tuesday April 19th at 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT

A multiplatform GA will allow us to make decisions in a simpler and more democratic process. The Board will introduce new rules of procedure that will be adopted and used at this GA. After these webinars, the Board will host online chats during the month of May where UUs can discuss the resolutions and give feedback to the Board. WEBINAR: What Does Multiplatform Mean for this Year’s General Assembly?

  • Thursday: May 26th at 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT

As GA gets closer and more delegates are chosen, the Board will introduce some of the changes that result from fully embracing multiplatform gathering. This webinar will highlight many of the ways that congregations and delegates can participate in decision-making from wherever they are, and at a more thoughtful pace. WEBINAR: GA 2022 Business Resolutions

  • Wednesday: June 1st at 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT / 4pm PT

  • Saturday: June 4th at 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT

After receiving the feedback from congregations and other groups, the Board will introduce the final language of the business resolutions it previewed on April 9th and April 13th, authorizing a multi-year rewrite of the Association’s bylaws, and suspending the General Assembly Planning Committee pending the completion of new bylaws. Business Resolution Mini-Assembly

  • Saturday: June 11th at 4pm ET / 3pm CT / 2pm MT / 1pm PT

A mini-assembly will be convened to discuss the proposed business resolutions, so every delegate should be online for this. Congregations and delegates can propose amendments to the resolutions at this mini-assembly, and if they receive enough support, they will be discussed during General Session at GA. An amendment has to be presented in the mini-assembly in order to be considered during GA. Learn more and pre-register for these webinars online. We encourage congregations to begin recruiting your delegates now and to share this information with your entire Board and congregational leaders. Sincerely, The UUA Board of Trustees

28 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page